Monday, November 19, 2007

Kasparov on "After Words"

An October 16th interview of Garry Kasparov aired this weekend on After Words, a program on C-Span 2 that features authors of recent books. I watched the 6 o'clock broadcast last night.

Of all the anecdotes told by Kasparov, my favorite one pertains to game 24 of the match in Seville between the two K's. Karpov needed only a draw to regain the title. Kasparov obtained a winning position but blundered it away after the referee startled him by tapping his shoulder, reminding him to write down the moves on his scoresheet. Karpov should now have drawn the game and won the match, but he blundered in return!

If you missed the interview, you can catch it here.